Our Structure

The Gulf Atlantic Diocese is a member of the Anglican Church in North America province (ACNA) and the Global Anglican Futures Conference (GAFCON) who are on mission to guard the unchanging, transforming Gospel of Jesus Christ and to proclaim him to the world. Both the province and the diocese proceed from a council where clergy and laity (non-ordained parishioners) serve in leadership together.

Diocesan leadership includes the Diocesan Council and the Standing Committee. The Standing Committee is an elected group of clergy and lay leaders that serves as a council of advisors to the bishop, provides an annual review of the bishop, and approves ordinations and clergy transfers. The Standing Committee is also the ecclesiastical authority in the absence of the bishop. The Diocesan Council members are both elected and appointed and have the responsibility for financial management of the diocese. The Diocesan Council oversees the work of the Finance Committee, the Nominating Committee, and the Constitution & Canons Committee. Both the Diocesan Council and the Standing Committee work to carry out diocesan decisions between Synods. See those currently serving in Diocesan leadership here

In addition, the diocese is composed of four geographic deaneries, allowing clergy to remain connected and accountable and providing opportunities for shared ministries among the churches in those respective areas. Each deanery is led by an area dean appointed by the bishop.